Music, Wedding, Event, & Portrait Photography

Shooting Raw

I’ve actually had multiple comments made to be by students… “how can you shoot raw? It takes up too much space! I don’t bother with it”

Two answers…
1. Get a larger memory card.
2. Get another large memory card.

Why? Here’s a good reason:

This would have NOT been possible if I shot in JPG. I would have to toss a perfectly good image out the window because my camera metering went on a random fritz. This can happen to you too, so how are YOU prepared?

On a much lighter note I’m almost done editing all of my weddings πŸ™‚ About… oh… 1600 more images to go… plus a movie shoot I’m doing tonight and Tuesday… so I’d say about 2300 left. Much better than the 6000 I started off with, I can tell you that!

2 responses

  1. I hope to learn how to use raw soon. Any software you recommend? I tried using what came with my camera, but it very complicated. I probably should take a class or something.

    August 15, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    • I would recommend Lightroom (version 3 just came out) which converts raw files pretty nicely, especially if you work with bulk photos. Only costs about $100 or so. Lightroom is what I use to color and exposure correct all of my images, and having it in raw allows me to save great photos that accidentally got over or under exposed.

      August 16, 2010 at 8:00 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Tweets

Categories

Copyright

Creative Commons License
Minerva Photography by Michelle Feingold is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at MinervaPhotography.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at MinervaPhotography.com.
